A place to ask simple legal questions. In Florida, any two people between age 16 and 23 (inclusive) may consent to sexual activity. If the older individual is 24 years of age or older, then he/she can only engage in sexual There are no laws that regulate dating. Although common notions may assert that an adult may not date a person who is under the age of 18, each state treats relationships between adults and underage people differently.
In Florida, the age of legal consent is If you are 18 and she is 16, then per FL law sexual activity is legal. Subsections 8a and 8b of apply to those in a familial or custodial. Your year-old son is dating a year-old female classmate — no big deal, right?
Statutory rape is a strict liability crime, meaning that the consent of the younger person or mistake about their age is not a defense. Florida's “Romeo and Juliet” law was created during the Legislative Juliet ” law does not make it legal for an 18 year-old to have a sexual , F.S., provides an age-gap provision that allows a 16 or 17 year-old to legally consent to. In Florida, the age of consent is
The multi-phase, descriptive study will collect information about state laws, federal guidance to programs, and grantees and local offices practices. The findings will help HHS to determine if additional guidance is needed. This report is a compilation of state laws and reporting requirements.
The Florida Age of Consent is 18 years old. May 3, But the law doesn't always keep minors from dating adults, now do they? In Florida, the age of consent is years-old, but in Georgia and with a person 16 or 17 years of age commits a felony of the second degree. By Jessica Gillespie.
In the United States, age of consent laws regarding sexual activity are made at the state level. Jun 29, In Florida, it is legal for an individual between the ages of 16 and 23 to It is also possible for an individual who was 18 years old or younger. An individual who is 19 years old or older has sexual contact with someone who is younger than 16 but older than 12 has committed sexual abuse.
Section (1), while not expressly allowing such relationships, notes that a person 24 years old or older who engages in contact with a to year-old.
Nov 8, Florida's age of consent is 18, though the law contains a provision allowing and year-olds to consent to having sex with someone.